Purple sunset shells

IMG_7570

IMG_7577

On the beaches of Vancouver were scattered hundreds of iridescent, opalescent purple shells. From a distance, they looked like shards of the sky deposited by the purplish sunset. Close up, you could see the delicate violet gradations and subtle shades.

They attracted me, so I picked them up and collected some in my pocket, and took them back to the room where I was staying. I envisioned handing them out to the friends and family I’d see the next day.

But, when I looked at them the next day, they were dull and chalky. Taken out of their environment, they lost their luster.

In the end, I returned them back to the beach, where they could once again soak up the color of the sunset.

One thought on “Purple sunset shells

  1. UM April 6, 2016 / 2:18 pm

    And now via this post you did share them with your friends and family. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

