Back in Turkey

Map from geology.com.

During my last extended stay in Turkey, in 2010, I posted a map of my travel destinations, the great majority of which I successfully visited, and wrote regularly about my experiences and thoughts. Now I’m back in Turkey and ready for more.

As my brand-new sidebar disclaimer indicates, for the next 10 months I will be serving as an English Teaching Assistant under the auspices of the U.S. Fulbright Program. Fulbright is most known for the research grants it awards to recent graduates and scholars worldwide, but it also funds a number of grantees to act as English instructors in educational institutions abroad in order to facilitate cultural exchange, and other shiny catch phrases like that.

Doing a Fulbright has been a longtime dream of mine, something I’ve been working toward for at least two years, and it’s amazing to be here with a cohort of incredible, energetic, adventurous people. Eskişehir, circled in green on the map, is where I will be settling after my hellacious week of torture lectures cultural orientation and job training in Ankara, and where I will be teaching English in some capacity at Turkey’s Anadolu University.

To get a sense of what I write about, below are some links to an arbitrary selection of my previous Turkey coverage and travel writing, or feel free to explore the “Turkey” tag in the dropdown menu in the sidebar. For the upcoming year, expect to hear about achieving my dream of backpacking through Georgia and the Caucasus;being a foreign teacher in a foreign land, and all that jazz; institutional bureaucracy at a large state school; witnessing the Easter Rocket War in Chios, Greece; travels to Barcelona to hear Catalan and see the Sagrada Familia; hitting up Prague just to see Prague; busing to random domestic destinations in between teaching responsibilities; and whatever else happens in the next year.

Hope you’ll stick around and find out with me!

2 thoughts on “Back in Turkey

  1. UM September 5, 2012 / 12:36 pm

    I’ll stick with you all the way. I wan to go on hose trips too

    Like

    • C. Puls September 5, 2012 / 8:18 pm

      wish you could be on all of them, but you’ll definitely be on some of them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

