Photo walk: abandoned house edition

After dropping books off at the public library last week, I thought I would take a walk down to Dumbarton Oaks, an extremely picturesque area of Georgetown with a lovely park, and take a swing on the swingset. However, a golden-glowing, gingko-leave-strewn sidestreet drew me in. After admiring the leaves I turned down an alley, where I was surprised to find…

…a completely vacant lot with an abandoned two-story brick house, a weedy backyard, and a collapsing garage. A surprising sight in the heart of rich, high-end Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Dilapidated, mossy, viney, garbage-strewn, dropping gutters, windows falling in, overturned potted plants, rusted metal junk, plastic bags, cans, and a discarded Christmas tree–I was intrigued.

The adjoining garage attracted my attention. When I peeked through a hole in its decaying wooden door, I was surprised to find…

… something staring back at me!

Even though the garage’s roof had collapsed, an old-ish looking turquoise automobile was still locked inside surrounded by old cans and other garbage and covered by dried leaves. Who owns this lot? Why is it in such a state of disarray? Not only is real estate in this neighborhood super valuable, but living next to an abandoned lot is not ideal (mess and security concerns) so the neighbors must have tried to do something about it and yet failed. Why? What’s the story?

Full of questions, but still a little worried that I was going to be arrested at any moment, I left the alley and headed into Oak Hill cemetery. The sun was going down–not an ideal time for taking attractive photographs or, for that matter, being alone in a graveyard–but so so lovely and refreshing.

Cemeteries have always attracted me for quiet walks, and Oak Hill is an especially great specimen: it’s picturesquely hilly and has headstones, mausoleums, and giant obelisks dating back from the 1800s. Definitely recommend it for a calm solitary walk, if you like that sort of thing.

4 thoughts on “Photo walk: abandoned house edition

    • C. Puls November 26, 2011 / 6:22 pm

      Glad you liked! Thanks for looking.

      Like

  1. Flabbermongerishness November 25, 2011 / 3:29 am

    So cool! I’ve never seen this place before, and I can’t believe there was a whole freakin’ car parked in there rotting away. You’re good at asking questions and finding things other people don’t notice.

    I think this is case and point…

    Like

    • C. Puls November 25, 2011 / 9:50 pm

      Thanks dear, and thanks for reading:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

