The power of the gentle reminder

Harold: You hop in any car you want and just drive off?
Maude: Well, not any car – I like to keep a variety. I’m always looking for the new experience.
Harold: Maybe. Nevertheless, I think you’re upsetting people. I don’t know if that’s right.
Maude: Well, if some people get upset because they feel they have a hold on some things, I’m merely acting as a gentle reminder: here today, gone tomorrow, so don’t get attached to things now.

–Harold and Maude, 1971, directed by Hal Ashby

Sometimes I think that if I could have any superpower, it would be the power of the gentle reminder. I would be that benignly chaotic force in life that causes you to think you’ve lost your phone (or house keys, or child, cherished heirloom, favorite pair of socks, chance at true love, or whatever) and then just as you’ve resolved to appreciate the things you have and take greater care of them and be more self-aware from this moment on, that’s when you would find the phone, (or house keys, child, et al)ย in the back pocket of your bag that you don’t usually use.

That would be my superpower.

2 thoughts on “The power of the gentle reminder

  1. UM March 10, 2011 / 2:43 pm

    I would really like to have those unviversal keys Maude had.

    Like

Leave a Reply

