the distance is only physical

this isn’t spring
this is another season altogether
the spark in every eye
comes with its unique flavor of union
every branch is moving
but each one stirs for a different reason
moved by a different wind

— Jalal al-Din Rumi, from Rubais of Rumi with translations and commentary by Nevit O Ergin and Will Johnson, 2007

My friend at Hotel Noah’s Ark recently informed me that it has been over five days since I updated. Sorry for the delay. It’s certainly not for lack of trying. I have photos and short essays to post, but the internet connection at this new hotel is shit, so my lovely readers (all two-and-a-half of you) will have to wait until this weekend when I am finally in Alanya to get a worthwhile post.

…Maybe just a quick update is in order? We arrived in Ankara yesterday after a five-hour bus ride from good old Stamboul and promptly took a pilgrimage to Anitkabir, Mustafa Kemal Ataturk’s mausoleum, to soak up the bombastic nationalism. We also visited the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations (so much cuneiform!!) and the Turkish Parliament (whose parliamentary chamber is outfitted with orange gazelle-skin chairs). I also managed to get desperately lost in the streets of Ankara for a good four hours. And not the lackadaisical/fun kind of lost… the kind of lost where it’s dark and you’re hungry you know you’re a long way from home and you can’t even remember how to retrace your steps… that kind of lost!

But when I found my way back and sat down for a late dinner, the gözleme and sugary tea tasted ten times as delicious as normal. So life is good.

2 thoughts on “the distance is only physical

  1. Austin Yoder September 7, 2010 / 5:25 am

    As at least .5 of a reader, I’d say it’s far more important to enjoy yourself in your new surroundings than worry about regular updates. It is lovely, at any rate, to see that you eventually found your way back to dinner and your hotel safely.

    Looking forward to your pics and posts when you get em up!

    Like

  2. C. Puls September 9, 2010 / 10:26 pm

    Austin, you are much more than half a reader! You’re the bumblebee in the logo, whose value is unquantifiable.
    After four hours of swimming and hiking on the beach, I can assure you that I am enjoying myself in my new surroundings.
    Good to hear from you, as usual.

    Like

Leave a Reply

